Prayer

Hi everyone. I hope y’all are having a good week!

I’ve been thinking a lot about prayer lately, and thought I might tap into this resource and see what y’all think. I was wondering if you could share some things you find encouraging about prayer, times when it’s been especially powerful for you (and what you were doing that might have contributed to that), and where you are right now…are you needing encouragement? are you thriving?

Lately, I’ve been feeling like my attempts to connect to God are going nowhere. Not all the time, but a lot of the time it almost feels like my prayers are hitting a brick wall. I just get stuck. I know this has everything to do with me, and nothing to do with God (meaning it’s my problem, it’s not indicative of any sort of “lack” on God’s end). So I’m trying to reset my focus and change some things. Any thoughts, articles, antecdotes, etc are appreciated.

Love,

Marci

Prayer

3 thoughts on “Prayer

  1. Not that we should turn to entertainment for spiritual guidance, but there’s a new movie called War Room that might actually be somewhat helpful. Here’s a little about it:
    http://www.breitbart.com/big-hollywood/2015/08/28/faith-based-prayer-film-war-room-could-become-box-office-sleeper-hit/
    I love and appreciate your honesty, sweet Marci. The challenge is there for all of us in this distracting, discouraging world. The enemy desires to have our hearts. “…Sin is crouching at the door. Its desire is for you, but you must rule over it.” We can overcome (Romans 8:31-39)!
    What helps me:
    1) reminding myself to be constantly aware of God’s divine presence (thanks, Bill Hall!). The physical, temporary world is so deceitful, making me feel like “what you see is what you get.” But that’s not really true. God is here now, and He is forever (Psalm 46:1).
    2) Just because I’m not “feeling it” at any given point in time, that doesn’t mean He’s not there. Like my relationship with Barry, sometimes I laugh, sometimes I cry, sometimes I just say ho-hum. Right? Isn’t that how it goes? But I’m 100% committed to him, so even when I’m ho-humming, I still love him and try to treat him right. Same with God. Sometimes my river of commitment to God floods and sometimes it trickles, but the goal is to keep it flowing!

    Like

    1. thank you!! i really loved what you said about “what you see is what you get” – that’s a good reminder for me. God is here now, whether i feel him or not. and just remembering that gives me a sense of peace. Also really liked your relationship analogy – that’s a good way to think about it.

      someone mentioned that in times like these you can either turn away from God or lean in. i know for a fact that i’ll be leaning in, i’m just struggling a bit with what exactly i’m leaning on…God is such a mystery to me. which is exactly how it should be, i suppose. ❤

      Like

  2. krpand3 says:

    Very interested in this as well. Thanks marci
    Ive been there with the brick wall feeling. When my day slows down I want to get into this and read what Kay wrote in more detail. And hopefully add to her words of encouragement.
    And I really want to see that movie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

